• Moodle
  • Twitter
  • Facebook
  • Vimeo
  • Vimeo
  • Instagram

Students, staff, friends and families joined Portsmouth College for an evening of celebration at the Annual Awards Evening which presented hundreds of certificates to staff, ex-students and a very popular man.

Each year Portsmouth College celebrates students who have recently left with a prestigious evening of celebration and reminiscing, looking back on how well students excelled whilst at the College.

Families and friends of award winners accompanied the students, as well as special guests MP Penny Mordaunt and MP Flick Drummond who joined the College Principal and Chair of Governors in presenting the awards to almost 100 students.

Awards went to students for outstanding work, commitment and achievement across the College’s departments. They also included a range of special awards such as the Portsmouth University Outstanding Academic Award that was presented to Aimee Wragg for her A level results of A* in Maths, A* in Physics and A in Philosophy, and the Student Entrepreneur of the Year being awarded to Carl Hewitt by Unloc for successfully launching his digital marketing company Digi Dinos.


Each winner was presented a certificate, a college pin and a copy of the best-selling book Too Fast To Think by Chris Lewis, who also sent in a video message as part of the celebrations.

Not only did the audience celebrate the students but they also joined together to celebrate staff who have excelled, including the beloved Principal Steve Frampton who received a standing ovation from the audience after the announcement regarding his outstanding achievement of being award his MBE, for more than 35-years of dedication to post-16 education.

Nick Wynne, Chair of Governors at Portsmouth College, said: “It gives me great pleasure to announce that Steve is included in this year's New Years Honours list. He has been awarded an MBE for 35 years of service to post-16 education, in many roles and colleges, and at all levels, but especially for city wide and national work as Principal of our amazing college. Steve deserves this recognition for his tireless commitment in improving the education and expectations of our students at Portsmouth College.”

Steve Frampton MBE, who made an emotional speech dedicating his award to past and present students, listened to personal messages from MP Penny Mordaunt and MP Flick Drummond before speaking out about his childhood heroes and how they had helped mould him into the man we all know and love.

As well as Penny and Flick, special guests from Portsmouth University, HAHA Hairdressing, AT&T, The Martin Ralph Group and The News joined in the celebrations, before enjoying a glass of fizz and a delicious meal cooked by the College caterers.

Portsmouth College and its staff and Governors would like to thank the following for supporting the evening's celebrations:
● Academia
● The Martin Ralph Group
● AT&T
● HAHA Hairdressing
● Solent First Aid
● The News
● The Akash
● University of Portsmouth

Simon Barrable, Deputy Principal and long-time friend of Steve said: “Everyone at the College is over the moon about this. We are all extremely proud of Steve and all he has achieved and are sure that all who know him will feel the same. Steve himself would like to pass on his sincere thanks to all the many people who have passed on their congratulations and best wishes, for which he is extremely humbled and grateful. The announcement of his MBE was a fitting conclusion to a great night which saw so many fantastic students and staff awarded for their achievements.”



Art & Design (sponsored by The Martin Ralph Group)
● Louis Clements
● Zoe Garnham
● Sydney Horsted
● Rosie Hornby
● Tazmin Sadler

Health & Social Care
● Phoebe Schofield
● Hannah Lee
● Kayleigh Postlethwaite
● Megan Marshall
● Lucy Potts
● Tamsin Coster

● Tafadzwa Mupfururi
● Helen Daddow
● Aimee Wragg
● Teri Pratt
● Olivia Tookey
● Alex Sandiford

● Alifa Rahmadanty
● Ben Lowes
● James Michie
● Joshua Pountney
● Danielle Rapson
● Joshua Gauntlett

Science (sponsored by AT&T)
● Amir Hussain
● Olivia Tookey
● Aimee Wragg
● Daniel Beck
● James Michie

Social Science
● Abid Tasnim
● Holly Bedford
● Brianne Atkins
● Lisa Nsofwa
● Connor Hayden
● Tafadzwa Mupfururi

Business, Economics, IT and Creative Media (sponsored by Academia)
● Ben Lowes
● Ilar Rahimikia
● Reece Matthews
● Ajmol Ahmed
● Charlie Cook
● Ellis Jones

English, Modern Languages and ESOL
● Lina Danielson Corral
● Ben Saunders
● Alison Rumfitt
● Chloe Eddy
● Awanis Hassanuddin
● Richard Hargrave
● Selina Monkeviciute
● Natalia Synos
● Nikita Lobete

Performing Arts, Music, Media and Film
● Maddy Gardiner
● Grace Watkins
● Lauren Meek
● Shakira May Hodge
● Morgon Campbell
● Ben Jackson

Sport and Public Services
● Joe Faulkner
● Carys Thornton
● Sheikh Ahmed
● Amy Weston
● Rupak Pun
● Lucas Fuller
● Harry Wrench

Apprenticeship Awards
● Tyler Davis
● Laura Swallow
● Faye Carpenter
● Rochelle Marsh
● Shenae Wilson

Student Entrepreneur of the Year
● Carl Hewitt (Digi Dinos)

Catherine Powell Award
● William Dunn

Outstanding Achievement Award (sponsored by University of Portsmouth)
● Aimee Wragg

Team Award
● Mission to Mars
  ○ Katie Hawkins
  ○ Charlotte Dean
  ○ James Michie
  ○ Adomas Puzelevicius

Principal’s Awards
● Nour Abu Khalaf
● Rachel Brett
● Morgon Campbell
● Harry Chown
● Patrick Dunn
● Abu Fahed
● Maddy Gardiner
● Carl Hewitt
● Bekah Houlsby
● Amir Hussain
● Ben Jackson
● Jemma Johnstone
● Claire Lautman
● Alisha Lynch
● Megan Marshall
● Amy Massey
● Reece Matthews
● Tafadzwa Mupfururi
● Nila Osman
● Teri Pratt
● Alison Rumfitt
● Alex Sandiford
● Charlotte Saunders
● Gerhard Spitsak
● Anisha Tachmin
● Olivia Tookey
● Aimee Wragg

Staff Awards
● Terry Ashdown
● Janine Bevan
● Marie Fleet
● Karen Frost
● Rebecca Hawke
● Lizzie Hough
● Alan James
● Sophie Kingsley-Smith
● Leah Kirk
● Kerry Maguire
● Jen Parr
● Trudie Perkins
● Rose Playle
● Gavin Roberts
● Holly Saunders
● Darren Sharkey
● Rachel Stickland
● Randy Vince
● Jenny Watson
● Rob Bass & Ben Searle
● The Estates Team

Staff Awards for completion of NQT year at Portsmouth College
● Lindsey Agrell
● Rebecca Hawke
● David Lycett

ESF Logoshaping2018